| 
               
                | 
 
                     
                      |  |   
                      |  
                          Notes 
                            about the game from Patty Ellis, Past Rules ChairBACK 
                            TO RULES & HANDICAP INDEX
 
 Ball Hit by Another Ball
 
 I 
                            found a new way to raise money for charity. Here's 
                            how it works: a good friend tells me she knows the 
                            rules of golf with respect to a particular situation. 
                            I'm pretty sure she's wrong and tell her what I believe 
                            is the correct play. She insists she's right and I'm 
                            wrong. My betting nature kicks in and I suggest we 
                            bet $100, with the loser writing a check payable to 
                            the winner's favorite charity. She agrees.I mailed her check to my charity yesterday. So what 
                            was the rule in question? She claimed that when a 
                            player "A", whose ball is on the green, 
                            putts and hits another player "B's" ball, 
                            which is at rest on the green, both players are penalized. 
                            I knew that A is the only player who could be penalized. 
                            B is not penalized, but must replace her ball to it's 
                            original position.
 
 This was not an easy situation because two different 
                            things happened! B's ball (at rest) was struck and 
                            moved by another ball while A's ball (in motion) was 
                            deflected by another player's ball. Each player is 
                            governed by a different rule, B by Rule 18 - Ball 
                            at Rest Moved and A by Rule 19 - Ball in Motion Deflected 
                            or Stopped.
 
 Specifically, Rule 18-5 states "If a ball in 
                            play and at rest is moved by another ball in motion 
                            after a stroke, the moved ball shall be replaced". 
                            That's it! The rules say nothing about a penalty. 
                            If B fails to replace her ball, that's an entirely 
                            different question. As far as A is concerned, Rule 
                            19-5a states "If a player's ball in motion after 
                            a stroke is deflected or stopped by a ball in play 
                            and at rest, the player shall play his ball as it 
                            lies. In match play, no penalty is incurred. In stroke 
                            play, there is no penalty unless both balls lay on 
                            the putting green prior to the stroke, in which case 
                            the player incurs a penalty of two strokes." 
                            So A doesn't always incur the 2 stroke penalty, just 
                            when it's stroke play.
 
 The moral of the story? Don't mess with me when I'm 
                            trying to raise money for charity!!!
 
 BACK 
                            TO TOP   |  |   
                |  |  |  |