Notes 
                            about the game from Patty Ellis, Past Rules Chair
                            BACK 
                            TO RULES & HANDICAP INDEX 
                            
                            
                          Posting 
                            Scores for Handicap 
                           
                            It has come to my attention that some of our league 
                            players may be confused about how to post a score 
                            (for handicapping purposes) when you've picked up 
                            on a hole after reaching double par.
                           
                            Firstly, let me reiterate that as soon as you've hit 
                            the ball two times par (eg: 8 strokes on a par 4 - 
                            including "whiffs") you must pick up your 
                            ball and stop playing that particular hole. You should 
                            record the double par on your scorecard with an "x" 
                            indicating you picked up (eg: X8 for a par 4).
                           
                            However, for handicap purposes, you must use your 
                            best judgment to estimate what you would have scored 
                            had you been able to play that hole out. For example, 
                            maybe you were on the green when you picked up so 
                            you might estimate it would have taken you two more 
                            shots to hole out. It's your judgment as to how many 
                            addtional strokes it would have taken you to hole 
                            out.
                           
                            When you determine what this estimated score is, you 
                            have to add the additional strokes onto your score 
                            before you enter your score into the handicap computer. 
                            
                           
                            For example, you pick up after your 6th shot on a 
                            par 3. You mark down X6 on your scorecard. After your 
                            done with your nine hole round, your total score with 
                            the 6 is 59 (this is what you'll hand into your league 
                            scoring captain). But, in your best judgment, you 
                            know had you been able to play out that par 3 hole, 
                            you would have had an 8 instead of a 6. The result 
                            is when you post your score, you should enter a 61 
                            (59+2).
                            
                            Of course the estimated score is subject to the Equitable 
                            Stroke Control Maximums (see your handicap handout 
                            for these).
                          If 
                            you have any questions about this or are still confused, 
                            please email me at PALLICE@aol.com.